“Eating and reading are two pleasures that combine admirably.”

I saw this quote by C.S. Lewis awhile ago and wanted to share it with you.

            “Eating and reading are two pleasures that combine admirably.”

            Okay, how true is that? I think apples are the best snack to eat while reading. It only requires one hand to eat with, and you don’t have to keep looking at what your eating, you can keep your eyes on the page. And no crumbs to get stuck in the cracks of the pages! Granted, a juicy apple might present a problem…

            It also occurs to me that as much as reading and eating go together ‘admirably’, writing and drinking go together just as well! *Please note, I don’t mean alcoholic drinking, although I’m sure some more mature writers would disagree.* I mean, don’t you agree that there’s nothing better in the world than sitting down at the laptop and getting ready to start typing away at a story, then starting yourself off with a nice sip of Biggby (Okay, or Starbucks) coffee? Or hot cocoa if it’s a cold day? Or sweet tea for the summer? Or a piping hot cup of tea, perhaps if you are writing an old fashioned English romance? Or Mountain Dew, if you’re writing an action thriller and need to get the adrenaline pumping? Or Purple Stuff! Yes, that is a real drink, tastes good. Kind of weird though…

            And of course, drinking and reading are good. And eating and writing are okay. Though, as much as it sounds good, eating Chinese food and typing doesn’t work if you get even one piece of rice stuck under the keys. You’ll never hear the end of it (think: type-typity-type-type-CRUNCH!-type-typity-type.) Not that I would know that from experience or anything! Thank goodness for canned air with computer attachments!

            What is your favorite reading/eating or writing/drinking combinations?

3 thoughts on ““Eating and reading are two pleasures that combine admirably.”

  1. I like eating soup and reading. That’s fun 😉 Or any Biggby drink(non-coffee), is great to read with. But generally I can eat and read with anything. Except desserts. If I’m eating any dessert, I have to watch something 😉

  2. I love settling down to an afternoon (or morning or evening) of writing with a cup of coffee! When I’m reading, I can never say no to a sandwich or a greek yogurt depending on how hungry I am.

Leave a Reply

