On Writing It Down…

On Writing it Down…

            Write it down. Jot it down. Scribble. Scrawl. This is what you must do. Why? For what reason? Can I get that reduced calorie and super sized with whip cream? Forget the last question, just focus on the first two. If an idea pops into your head for a story, do as I say: WRITE IT DOWN. If you think of a good name for a character: WRITE IT DOWN. You just thought of a plot twist: WRITE IT DOWN. A brilliant new story just popped into your head: GO GET CAFFEINE. Then: WRITE IT DOWN. (And yes, for all you persnickety people who always have to say ‘I don’t drink coffee’ you can get caffeinated tea or energy drinks, so ‘Ha’, but the caffeine is still a fundamental tool for writers. Back on subject…)

I carry a notebook in my purse, a notepad in my wallet, I have a notepad function on my dumbphone (And you thought only the Smartphone could do that!), I have several notebooks next to my bed, and a special file on my USB chip. All for the purpose of the over-active-imagination induced symptom of the ‘Aha-I-have-an-idea-for-my-story-that-is-awesome-and-I-have-to-write-it-down-before-I-forget-or-I-will-‘I-coulda-had-a-V8’-smack-myself-for-an-hour’ factor. Are you all still with me? Of course you are! I couldn’t have spelled it out any clearer! Well, that last comment is up for debate…

Never assume you will remember it. I never do. Ever. Okay, if you have an eidetic memory, go for it. But all you other writers, try writing it down. If for no other reason, do it for all the people, your fans, who will want, no, ‘crave’, to see in to your genius thought process of writing when you are a famous author. I know, that last comment convinced you, didn’t it?

When, where or what do you write down?

P.S. For all my fellow geeks, I thought you might like to know I was writing this while watching Doctor Who. Blogging and Doctor Who, fantastic combination!

One thought on “On Writing It Down…

  1. You are so right. My problem is having the idea in the shower (when we are all at our peak brilliance) and then forgetting to write it down later…this literally just happened like 20 min ago…sigh.

Leave a Reply

