“I am not at all in a humor for writing; I must write on till I am.”

“I am not at all in a humor for writing; I must write on till I am.” ~ Jane Austen

Dear Jane, how right you are! I have lately been ridden with that insufferable ailment that always seems to strike writers at the worst of times: writer’s block. I had over the course of the past year gotten into the habit of putting aside for myself one hour everyday to write. Sometimes I felt guilty that I was taking this time for myself, instead of working on my classes, or household work, or other such things that needed to be done. Nevertheless, it was worth it, and I found that my writing time was necessary to keep me sane. But as March and April became busy, my hour dwindled and disappeared, until the only time I found to write was on Saturday mornings (another time I had set aside for writing), but by then I was too tired and just couldn’t think of anything!

Jane had it right, I have to write to be in a humor for writing. Even if I have a story idea, I can’t always find the motivation needed to write it down. As April’s busyness diminishes, I will force myself to sit down at my laptop everyday for at least an hour, without the internet, cell phone, or telly. That surely will be the cure for my writer’s block. I suppose for me, not setting aside time for writing is like going outside in the cold with wet hair. If I don’t do it, I won’t get sick (or writer’s block.) Do you have a time you set aside for yourself to write? Or perhaps a homeopathic remedy for writer’s block?

One thought on ““I am not at all in a humor for writing; I must write on till I am.”

  1. Thanks for the idea. I will start to mark a time on my calendar to schedule time to write and I will schedule it in the morning… Too often we leave ourselves till last and then we run out of time and energy.

Leave a Reply

